Who will get the bonus UCL spot between England and Germany?


The UEFA Champions League will have a new format, with 36 teams competing in a league format. Out of the additional four spots, two will be filled by leagues with top performance in European competitions.

Which Associations will get the extra Spots?

These extra spots will be awarded to associations or leagues with the best collective performance by their clubs in the previous season's UEFA men's club competitions. Each association with the best performance will earn one automatic place in the league phase for the club ranked next-best in their domestic league behind those clubs that have already qualified directly for the league phase.

The Premier League was the favorite to get the extra spot, but with the recent exits of Liverpool, Manchester City, and Arsenal from the quarter-finals of the Europa League and Champions League, the Bundesliga has a higher chance of getting the extra spot. This is because Bayer Leverkusen, Bayern Munich, and Borussia Dortmund have progressed to the semi-finals in these competitions.

What is the chance of the Premier League?

If the German clubs lose all their games and Aston Villa wins all their matches, the Premier League will get the extra spot.

What is the current coefficient ranking?

For the 2023/24 season, the coefficient ranking for each association determines the number of clubs that can participate. Italy, Germany, England, France, and Spain are the top five associations that can participate in the competition, with Belgium and Czechia following.

Which associations will complete the final four extra spots?

The European Performance Spots make up two of the additional four slots for next season's competition. The other two additional places will be awarded to a club ranked third in the championship of the association in fifth position in the access list (France) and a domestic champion, respectively.

In summary, the 36 teams participating in the competition will come from England, Spain, Germany, Italy, France, Netherlands, Portugal, Belgium, Scotland, and Austria, with two spots for the European Performance Spots, five spots from the qualifying rounds through the champions path, and two spots from the qualifying rounds through the league path.