UEFA's rule on penalty awarded to PSG against Newcastle United


The UEFA Champions League game between Newcastle United and Paris Saint Germain at the Parc de Prince ended with a controversial penalty awarded to the home team.

Newcastle took the lead in the first half of the game through Alexandar Isak but were able to hold their ground against their hosts until the final minutes of the game when Kylian Mbappe equalised from the penalty spot.

The decision to award the penalty came about after Ousmane Dembele's cross deflected off Tino Livramento's chest before hitting his elbow. VAR check saw referee Szymon Marciniak review the footage before pointing to the penalty spot.

Following the controversial penalty awarded to PSG in the 98th minute of their match against Newcastle United, UEFA's law states that "no handball offence should be called on a player if the ball is previously deflected from his own body".

The result means Newcastle United must beat AC Milan on match day 6 and hope that PSG don't defeat Borussia Dortmund for them to secure a place in the next round of the competition.