2026 World Cup Qualifiers: Maduka Okoye replaced! See updated squad list for Nigeria


As the training camp of the Super Eagles of Nigeria opened on Monday, November 13, 2023, here are the players that would feature in the 2026 World Cup qualifiers for the national side.

With Victor Osimhen out injured, Bayern Leverkusen's Nathan Tella received his first call-up to the national side. Tella had initially expressed his desire to play for the Super Eagles of Nigeria. The young football star, in a recent interview, revealed, "I’ve always said for the last three or four years that Nigeria is a big part of my life, even though I’ve been an ‘England boy’ from London all my life. If I got the chance to play for Nigeria, I would be more than happy to accept it. I’ve already told my parents and friends that I would do that. You’re not just nominated like that. You have to work for it and earn it. I want to prove myself here if I get the chance to play. I want to develop further, help the team and the club – if a call comes for an international call-up, that would be a bonus.”

Reports also indicate that Maduka Okoye, who received his first call-up under Jose Pesiro, has been replaced by Bendel Insurance goalkeeper Amas Obasogie. Speaking on his first call-up for the Super Eagles, Amas Obasogie, revealed, “It was good news for me when I received a call from the Super Eagles camp that I have been invited for the match. It’s a great privilege for me, and I will never take it for granted. I’m very happy to have been invited by the manager, and I want to thank the coach and his coaching crew as well as the NFF Technical Committee. This call-up is for the fans and the home-based players, and I want to thank them all for their support and belief in me. I will be in the camp and give my best for the coach and my fatherland.”

Nigeria is scheduled to face Lesotho and Zimbabwe, and here are the players you should expect to see on the pitch.

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho, Olorunleke Ojo, Amas Obasogie

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina, Chidozie Awaziem, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Bruno Onyemaechi, Kenneth Omeruo, Oluwasemilogo Ajayi, Calvin Bassey, Jamilu Collins

Midfielders: Raphael Onyedika, Frank Onyeka, Alex Iwobi

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho, Sadiq Umar, Moses Simon, Ademola Lookman, Nathan Tella, Taiwo Awoniyi, Terem Moffi, Victor Boniface

Read the Latest Sport Trends and Get Fresh updates as they drop via Twitter and Facebook