Euro 2024: Past winners of UEFA Euro Championship


As we count down to the 2024 edition of the European Championship which will be hosted in Germany, we have decided to take a look of the past winners of the competition.

The UEFA European Championship which is also called the Euros is a competition that is set aside for national men's teams in Europe and is held every four years. The first edition of the competition was held in 1960, and only nine teams have been able to lift the trophy.

Which teams have won the UEFA Euro Championship more than twice?

Germany and Spain are the only teams that have won the trophy three times.

Which teams have won the UEFA Euros trophy twice?

France and Italy have won the trophy twice while Portugal, Netherlands, Denmark, Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia and Greece have one title each.

Which country has won the UEFA Euro Championship back to back-to-back?

Spain is the only country to win consecutive titles, they achieved the feat in 2008 and 2012.

Who are the past winners of UEFA Euro Championship?

1960: Soviet Union 2-1 Yugoslavia (AET) in Paris, France

1964: Spain 2-1 Soviet Union in Madrid, Spain

1968: Italy 2-0 Yugoslavia (replay) in Rome, Italy

1972: West Germany 3-0 Soviet Union in Brussels, Belgium

1976: Czechoslovakia 2-2 West Germany (5-3 on penalties) in Belgrade, Yugoslavia

1980: West Germany 2-1 Belgium in Rome, Italy

1984: France 2-0 Spain in Paris, France

1988: Netherlands 2-0 Soviet Union in Munich, Germany

1992: Denmark 2-0 Germany in Gothenburg, Sweden

1996: Germany 2-1 Czech Republic (golden goal) in London, England

2000: France 2-1 Italy (golden goal) in Rotterdam, Netherlands

2004: Greece 1-0 Portugal in Lisbon, Portugal

2008: Spain 1-0 Germany in Vienna, Austria

2012: Spain 4-0 Italy in Kiev, Ukraine

2016: Portugal 1-0 France (AET) in Paris, France

2020: Italy 1-1 England (3-2 on penalties) in London, England

Read the Latest Sports News and Get Fresh updates as they drop via Twitter and Facebook