Osimhen, Balogun, & Others Out Of 2021 AFCON Nigerian Squad | SEE LIST


Osimhen, Dennis, Balogun, and Abdullahi have been confirmed to miss January's 2021 African Cup of Nations.

Osimhen Balogun 2021 AFCON

As the African Cup of Nations draws nearer, the Super Eagles have confirmed that four of its players have been withdrawn from the squad and replaced with new players.

In an unfortunate turn of things, the giants of Africa will be heading into their AFCON campaign in Cameroun in January without two forwards and two defenders.

Tof the list is the team's lethal striker, Victor Osimhen; Watford's Emmanuel Dennis, Rangers' Leon Balogun and Omonia Nicosia's Shehu Abdullahi, who have all been exempted from the 28-man squad.

READ ALSO - Victor Osimhen Gives Update on His Injury Ahead of AFCON | Read

Replacing the exempted players are Olympiacos’ Henry Onyekuru, Venezia's Tyronne Ebuehi, Slavia Prague's Peter Olayinka and West Bromwich Albion's Semi Ajayi, who were all called on by interim coach Austin Eguavoen.

Osimhen, who arrived in Nigeria this week, tested positive for coronavirus and he is in isolation while Balogun and Abdullahi are yet to recover fully from their injuries. Watford, however, complained about the delayed message for Dennis' call-up from the Nigerian football body.

The Super Eagles will begin their AFCON campaign on January 11 against Egypt after finding themselves in Group D, which also includes Sudan and Guinea-Bissau.

Nigerian Squad for Afcon 2021

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Tyronne Ebuehi (Venezia); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa).

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Peter Olayinka (Slavia Prague).

Get updates as they drop via Twitter and Facebook