Jose Peseiro leaves out notable names from Super Eagles' provisional squad list for AFCON 2023


The head coach of the Super Eagles of Nigeria, Jose Peseiro has released a 40-man provisional list ahead of the African Cup of Nations which will be hosted in Ivory Coast.

The provisional list was released on Monday, December 18, 2023. Jose Peseiro made the list a mixture of experienced and some new players who hope to make the final list that will be heading to Cote d'Ivoire next year.

However, some surprising omissions are former first-choice goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, and Glasgow Rangers defender Leon Balogun.

See the full list below


Amas Obasogie, Ojo Olorunleke and Christian Nwoke, Francis Uzoho, Adebayo Adeleye, Stanley Nwabali


William Troost-Ekong, Kevin Akpoguma, Kenneth Omeruo, Bruno Onyemaechi, Ola Aina, Semi Ajayi, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Zaidu Sanusi, Calvin Bassey, Jordan Torunarigha, Chidozie Awaziem, Tyronne Ebuehi and Jamilu Collins.


Alex Iwobi, Wilfred Ndidi, Raphael Onyedika, Kelechi Nwakali, Joe Aribo, Frank Onyeka, Alhassan Yusuf and Fisayo Dele-Bashiru.


Emmanuel Dennis, Victor Osimhen, Victor Boniface, Terem Moffi, Paul Onuachu, Ahmed Musa, Cyriel Dessers and Kelechi Iheanacho

The final 27-player squad will be announced by Peseiro on Wednesday, January 3, 2024, which is ten days before Nigeria's opening match against Equatorial Guinea. The team is expected to begin camping for the tournament later this month​​.