#TheBest: Victor Osimhen gets nominated for FIFA Best player award


The body governing football in the world, FIFA have announced the nominees for the best player of the year award.

FIFA announced 12 players as the nominees for the award on its official website on Thursday, September 14, 2023. According to the body, the qualification period for the award runs from December 19, 2022, to 20 August 2023 (it does not include the FIFA World Cup 2022).

The notable names on the list of nominees include former Paris Saint Germain player, Lionel Messi, and Napoli's forward player, Victor Osimhen but there was no room for Al-Nassr's Cristiano Ronaldo in the list of players.

Manchester City Treble-winners Rodri, Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva, Ilkay Gundogan and Julian Alvarez were all nominated for the award.

Who are the 2023 FIFA Best Men's Player Award nominees?

The list of 12 candidates for the 2022 award had a mixture of familiar faces and relative new faces.

(1) Julian Alvarez
(2) Marcelo Brozovic
(3) Kevin De Bruyne
(4) IIkay Gundogan
(5) Erling Haaland
(6) Rodri
(7) Khvicha Kvaratskhelia
(8) Kylian Mbappe
(9) Lionel Messi
(10) Victor Osimhen
(11) Declan Rice
(12)Bernardo Silva