CAF Awards 2023: Organisers announce the full list of nominees in major categories


Ahead of the award ceremony scheduled for December 11, 2023, in Marrakesh, Morocco, the organisers of the CAF Awards 2023 have confirmed the full list of nominees in different categories many are keeping an eye out for.

Following the success of African football stars at the Ballon d'Or 2023, all eyes are on the CAF Awards 2023, an award ceremony where the greatest and the best African talents are celebrated on the night of the award.

Here are the nominees in different categories ahead of the award ceremony;

CAF Player of the Year (Men) 2023 nominees

1.     Ramy Bensebaini (Algeria and Borussia Dortmund)

2.     Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Al Ahli)

3.     Edmond Tapsoba (Burkina Faso and Bayer Leverkusen)

4.     Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon and SSC Napoli)

5.     Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon and Besiktas)

6.     Ibrahima Sangare (Cote d’Ivoire and Nottingham Forest)

7.     Seko Fofana (Cote d’Ivoire and Al Nassr)

8.     Chancel Mbemba (DR Congo and Olympique Marseille)

9.     Fiston Mayele (DR Congo and Pyramids)

10.  Mahmoud Abdel Moneim “Kahraba” (Egypt and Ahly)

11.  Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt and Al Ahly)

12.  Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt and Al Ahly)

13.  Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)

14.  Mohammed Kudus (Ghana and West Ham United)

15.  Thomas Partey (Ghana and Arsenal)

16.  Serhou Guirassy (Guinea and VfB Stuttgart)

17.  Yves Bissouma (Mali and Tottenham Hotspur)

18.  Achraf Hakimi (Morocco and Paris Saint-Germain)

19.  Azzedine Ounahi (Morocco and Olympique Marseille)

20.  Hakim Ziyech (Morocco and Galatasaray)

21.  Sofyan Amrabat (Morocco and Manchester United)

22.  Yahya Jabrane (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

23.  Yassine Bounou (Morocco and Al Hilal)

24.  Youssef En-Nesyri (Morocco and Sevilla)

25.  Peter Shalulile (Namibia and Mamelodi Sundowns)

26.  Victor Osimhen (Nigeria and SSC Napoli)

27.  Sadio Mane (Senegal and Al Nassr)

28.  Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal and Tottenham Hotspur)

29.  Percy Tau (South Africa and Al Ahly)

30.  Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (Tunisia and Ferencvaros)

CAF Awards 2023: Best Goalkeeper of the Year category:

Senegal exerts their dominance in this category. The Goalkeeper of the Year 2023 is a category many are keeping an eye out for, with top nominees who had a successful 2022 and 2023 all receiving a nomination in this category.

Here is the list of nominees:

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men)

1.     Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt and Al Ahly)

2.     Yassine Bounou (Morocco & Al Hilal)

3.     Andre Onana (Cameroon and Manchester United)

4.     Ronwen Williams (Sout Africa and Mamelodi Sundowns)

5.     Edouard Mendy (Senegal and Al Ahli)

6.     Oussama Benbot (Algeria and USM Alger)

7.     Youssef El Motie (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

8.     Djigui Diarra (Mali and Young Africans)

9.     Pape Mamadou Sy (Senegal and Generation Foot)

10.  Landing Badji (Senegal and AS Pikine)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

1.     Aymen Mahious (Algeria and USM Alger/Yverdon-Sport)

2.     Oussama Benbot (Algeria and USM Alger)

3.     Zineddine Belaid (Algeria and USM Alger)

4.     Fiston Mayele (DR Congo and Young Africans/Pyramids)

5.     Makabi Lilepo (DR Congo and Al Hilal/Valenciennes)

6.     Hussein El Shahat (Egypt and Al Ahly)

7.     Mahmoud Abdel Moneim “Kahraba” (Egypt and Ahly)

8.     Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt and Al Ahly)

9.     Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt and Al Ahly)

10.  Mostafa Fathi (Egypt and Pyramids)

11.  Djigui Diarra (Mali and Young Africans)

12.  Yahia Attiyat Allah (Morocco and Wydad Club Athletic)

13.  Yahya Jabrane (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

14.  Youssef El Motie (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

15.  Peter Shalulile (Namibia and Mamelodi Sundowns)

16.  Percy Tau (South Africa and Al Ahly)

17.  Ranga Chivaviro (South Africa and Marumo Gallants/Kaizer Chiefs)

18.  Ronwen Williams (South Africa and Mamelodi Sundowns)

19.  Ali Maaloul (Tunisia and Al Ahly)

20.  Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (Tunisia and Esperance Sportive de Tunis /Ferencvaros)

CAF African Club of the Year 2023

Here are the nominees for the club of the year 2023:

1.     CR Belouizdad (Algeria)

2.     USM Alger (Algeria)

3.     ASEC Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire)

4.     Al Ahly (Egypt)

5.     Raja Club Athletic (Morocco)

6.     Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

7.     Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

8.     Marumo Gallants (South Africa)

9.     Esperance de Tunis (Tunisia)

10.  Young Africans (Tanzania)

CAF National Team of the Year (Men) 2023 Nominees

1.     Cape Verde

2.     The Gambia

3.     Guinea Bissau

4.     Equatorial Guinea

5.     Mauritania

6.     Morocco

7.     Mozambique

8.     Namibia

9.     Senegal

10.  Tanzania

Young Player of the Year (Men)

1.     Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso and Bournemouth)

2.     Souleymane Alio (Burkina Faso and New Stars)

3.     Ernest Nuamah (Ghana & Olympique Lyonnais)

4.     Abdessamad Ezzalzouli (Morocco and Betis)

5.     Bilal El Khannous (Morocco and Genk)

6.     Gift Orban (Nigeria and KAA Gent)

7.     Lamine Camara (Senegal and Generation Foot/Metz)

8.     Pape Amadou Diallo (Senegal and Generation Foot/Metz)

9.     Pape Demba Diop (Senegal and Zulte Waregem)

10.  Amara Diouf (Senegal and Generation Foot)

CAF Awards 2023 nominees
The CAF Awards Photo credit: CAF online

Coach of the Year (Men)

1.     Abdelhak Benchikha (USM Alger)

2.     Marcel Koller (Al Ahly)

3.     Juan Micha Obiang (Equatorial Guinea)

4.     Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)

5.     Baciro Cande (Guinea Bissau)

6.     Amir Abdou (Mauritania)

7.     Walid Regragui (Morocco)

8.     Chiquinho Conde (Mozambique)

9.     Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

10.  Pape Thiaw (Senegal – CHAN)

Read the Latest Sport Trends and Get Fresh updates as they drop via Twitter and Facebook