CAF announces AFCON 2025 preliminary round draw


The Confederation of African Football ( CAF) has announced the preliminary draw for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) which will be held in Morocco.

The Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2025 preliminary round qualifiers will involve the eight lowest-ranked teams according to the FIFA rankings. The teams include Somalia, Djibouti, Sao Tome, Chad, Mauritius, South Sudan, Liberia, and Eswatini which will be played in a two-legged format during the FIFA international of 18-26 March 2024.

The four winners from this preliminary round will join the 44 exempted teams in the group stage. The draw was held on Tuesday, 20 February at the headquarters of CAF in Egypt, a few days after the conclusion of the 34th edition of the competition.

See the full draw below;

First leg:

Somalia vs Eswatini
Sao Tome vs South Sudan
Chad vs Mauritius
Djibouti vs Liberia

Second leg:

Eswatini vs Somalia
South Sudan vs Sao Tome
Mauritius vs Chad
Liberia vs Djibouti