AFCON champions Senegal announce their 27-man squad list ahead of the tournament


The defending champions Senegal have confirmed their 27-man squad list ahead of AFCON 2023 which will commence in January 2024.

In an official announcement, the Teranga Lions of Senegal's head coach Aliou Cisse confirmed the provisional list of players that will represent the country at AFCON 2023, which is scheduled to take place in Ivory Coast from January to February 2024.

The champions have been seeded in group C alongside Gambia, Guinea, and Cameroon, and would be looking to retain their title as the Champions of Africa.

Senegal captain Sadio Mane also shared his thoughts on the chances of the Teranga Lions retaining their title. He stated that AFCON 2023 might be the toughest year yet in the competition's history.

He said, “We know it won’t be easy but we will be there to do our best and try to go through every round. We are expecting a tough competition. This competition will be one of the strongest since I started playing in it because all the big countries are here and they all have their targets, but we will see what will happen.”

Here is the 27-man squad for Senegal ahead of AFCON 2023

Édouard Mendy
Mory Diaw
Seny Dieng

Youssouf Sabaly
Krépin Diatta
Kalidou Koulibaly
Moussa Niakhaté
Abdou Diallo
Formose Mendy
Abdoulaye Ndiaye
Abdoulaye Seck
Fodé Ballo-Touré
Ismail Jakobs

Lamine Camara
Pape Matar Sarr
Cheikhou Kouyaté
Nampalys Mendy
Pape Gueye
Pathé Ciss
Idrissa Gueye

Nicolas Jackson
Abdallah Sima
Habib Diallo
Iliman Ndiaye
Ismaïla Sarr
Sadio Mané
Boulaye Dia

Read the Latest Sport Trends and Get Fresh updates as they drop via Twitter and Facebook