Listen to Dagizah's 6-track EP, 'Zero Your Mind'


Uber-talented Nigerian singer-songwriter Dagizah supplies us with a brand new extended play titled, 'Zero Your Mind.' The project houses six solid tracks, which includes a collabo with Marlian Music poster boy Mohbad.

  • Artiste Name: Dagizah
  • Project Type: E.P (Extended Play)
  • EP Title: Zero Your Mind
  • Number of Tracks: Six (6)
  • Genre: Afrobeats
  • Imprint: Chippy Records
  • Country: Nigeria
  • Year: 2021

    Dagizah - Zero Your Mind (EP)

    Dagizah - Zero Your Mind (EP)

The most significant artistic development in the Nigerian music industry from the last decade was the full-throttled establishment of indigenous sonic styles at the centre of Nigerian pop.

A significant element of Nigerian music is the full-throttled establishment of indigenous sonic styles. At the core of this type of music are the theme of upward mobility, the unabashed embrace of street realities, and a commitment to artistic candour over eclectic, forward-thinking production. Rising star, Dagizah, mirrors these characteristics in his smooth, suave brand of music that alchemically melds the DNA of indigenous music with broader pop sensibilities and these are evident in his just-released EP dubbed Zero Your Mind.


Across the six-song project, Dagizah flows from confessional hoping to more mid-tempo anthems that fit the sonic zeitgeist: on “Ja Fun Mi,” he is in a pensive mood, drawing on spiritual references to seek a breakthrough for himself atop a spectral beat.

RELATED: Mohbad - Feel Good

In tandem with Mohbad on “Joromi,” his music takes on an urgent, pathos-inflected direction that reflects his loving croons for a love interest with a grooving instrumental from Ade James while MohBad supplies a lustrous verse to see things out.

At different stretches, Dagizah shows his proficiency, moving from the dominant sound of Afropop to create over beats inspired by other genres as he does on “Who Goes There,” inspired by Amapiano but accessorized with the percussion of Nigerian pop while “Presidential” mixes drill and Fuji with a gorgeous Bollywood-influenced ethereal sample. But the real jewel in his crown is “Somebody,” a true grass-to-grace tale spun with the tenderest sentiments but anchored in the reality of an ascendant musician with the arsenal to rise to the top tables of Nigerian pop.

Listen, enjoy and let us know what you think.

Listen on Digital Streaming Platforms