28 Coke Studio stars also among “AFRIMMA Awards 2018” nominations list


28 artistes from Coke Studio Africa 2017 edition are among Africa’s top celebrated stars nominated at the 2018 edition of the annual African Muzik Magazine Awards and Music Festival (AFRIMMA), set to take place on 7th October, 2018 at House of Blues Dallas in USA.

The nominees were unveiled in the month of July 2018 revealing Coke Studio Africa 2017 artists: Nasty C, Yemi Alade, Sauti Sol, Jah Prayzah, Khaligraph Jones, Eddy Kenzo, Nyashinski, Bebe Cool, Alikiba, Rayvanny, Olamide, Mafikizolo, Falz, Locko, Chidinma, Sheebah, Busiswa, Runtown, Shekhinah, Nandy, Tresor, Patoranking, Navy Kenzo, Mi Casa, Ykee Benda and Anselmo Ralph who made the cut.

Leading with 5 nominations is South African rapper Nasty C followed by Kenyan group Sauti Sol and Reggae/Dancehall artiste Patoranking who bagged three nominations each. Coke Studio Africa 2017 producers: Killbeatz and Masterkraft have also been nominated at AFRIMMA Awards in the category of Producer of the Year.

Coke Studio Africa 2017 original composition: “Said” by two of Africa’s biggest stars: South African rapper Nasty C and Nigerian artist Runtown bagged two major nominations for Song of the Year and Collabo of the Year. Nasty C has been nominated for Artist of the Year alongside other Coke Studio Africa 2017 South African music group: Mafikizolo, and Best Male Artist Southern Africa, the latter alongside Tresor (Congolese/South Africa) and Jah Prayzah—the Zimbabwean music general who were also part of Coke Studio Africa 2017.

Coke Studio Africa 2017 Big Break Artist from Uganda: Ykee Benda also commendably bagged a nomination for Best Newcomer. He was making his debut on Coke Studio Africa last year collaborating with Jah Prayzah from Zimbabwe and Mozambican artiste Mr. Bow as one of the show’s Big Break acts.

To vote: AFRIMMA