FIFA World Cup: All-Time Highest Goal Scorers And Winners | SEE FULL LIST

As the 22nd edition of football's biggest tournament FIFA World Cup draws closer, here are key details to keep in mind ahead of the 2022 edition of the competition.

FIFA World Cup
FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup is the biggest tournament in football history as it is a competition that unites the world together to enjoy the beautiful game of football.

We have compiled a list of the highest goal scorers of all time as well as the highest winners of the competition so far.

What Is The FIFA World Cup About?

FIFA World Cup
FIFA World Cup

Arguably the biggest sports event in the world today, FIFA World Cup was first launched in the year 1930. It is designed to feature the senior national football teams of a total of 32 countries from different parts of the world.

A total number of participating countries would be selected after several rounds of qualifiers played.

It is important to note that the competition only comprises of teams that have their countries under the FIFA umbrella it takes place every four years. The qualification of each nation is secured based on the results in the qualifiers held by confederations.

The only time the FIFA World Cup was cancelled was in 1942, and 1946 as the competition was disrupted as a result of the Second World War.

How Many Countries Can Qualify For The FIFA World Cup?

FIFA World Cup

The current number of teams allowed to participate in the FIFA World Cup tournament is a total of 32 countries which was introduced at the 1998 World Cup tournament that was held in France.

The first edition of the World Cup held in 1930 saw a total of 13 countries qualify for the competition but the number of participating countries was later increased to 16 at the next tournament till 1978.

Another revision was made in 1982 as the competition expanded and saw the number of countries skyrocket to 24.

It is however stated that for the 2026 World Cup the number of countries would be increased to a total of 48 countries by the world football governing body FIFA.

Who Won The First FIFA World Cup?

FIFA World Cup

Uruguay won the first world cup tournament in 1930 a competition which they hosted that same year. They became the first recipient of the most sought-after sporting trophy in the world today.

Who Is The Current FIFA World Cup Champion?

FIFA World Cup
France Men's National Team

The French National team are the current FIFA World Cup champions following their victory in the tournament that was held in Russia in 2018.

France defeated Croatia in the finals of the tournament to win their second trophy in the competition.

Who Are The Highest Goal Scorers Of All Time At The FIFA World Cup?

FIFA World Cup
Miroslav Klose

The highest goal scorer of all-time in the history of the FIFA World Cup is the German Miroslav Klose, who played a total of 24 games and scored a total of 16 goals for Germany in a total of four tournaments he has appeared in.

Brazil's legend Ronaldo holds the number two position with a total of 15 goals in 19 games after featuring in a total of three tournaments.

The Table Below Contains The List Of The Highest Goal Scorers Of All Time At The FIFA World Cup

RankPlayerCountry RepresentedTotal Number Of GoalsTotal Number Of MatchesWorld Cup Tournament (s)
1Miroslav KloseGermany16242002, 2006, 2010, 2014
2RonaldoBrazil15191994, 1998, 2002, 2006
3Gerd MullerWest Germany14131970, 1974
4Just FontaineFrance1361958
5PeleBrazil12141958, 1962, 1966, 1970
=6Sandor KocsisHungary1151954
=6Jurgen KlinsmannWest Germany/Germany11171990, 1994, 1998
=8Helmut RahnWest Germany10101954, 1958
=8Teofilo Cubillas
1970, 1978, 1982

=8Grzegorz LatoPoland1020
1974, 1978, 1982
=8Gary LinekerEngland10121986, 1990
=8Gabriel BatistutaArgentina10121994, 1998, 2002
=8Thomas MullerGermany10132010, 2014, 2018

Who Has Won The Highest Number Of FIFA World Cup Trophies?

FIFA World Cup
Brazil National Team

Since the inception of the FIFA World Cup in 1930, the total number of countries that have won the world cup has just been eight. The most successful country in the competition is Brazil to date.

Brazil has won the most coveted cup in the world a total of five times. They won the world cup in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002.

This is not shocking for a country that has been gifted with talented players like Pele, Ronaldo, Ronaldinho, Neymar and so on.

This is the table of the full winners of the FIFA World Cup:

TeamTitlesYear Of The Tournament
Brazil51958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
Italy41934, 1938, 1982, 2006
Germany41954, 1974, 1990, 2014
Uruguay21930, 1950
Argentina21978, 1986
France21998, 2018



Get weekly updates and entertainment news around Africa. Don't worry, we don't spam.